About

I arrived in the UK in February 2014 and had no more than £1,000 in my foreign bank account. The plan was to find work or return to my home country once I run out of money. Luckily I found a job in Essex and was able to build a career later on.

London has been home since 2015. I work in finance but do not provide any financial advice on this blog. I’ve got broad experience with all things related to financial planning from working with predominantly wealthy individuals – including wealth accumulation (investing), pensions, protection (insurance), wealth decumulation, tax planning, estate planning and so on.

I live with my gorgeous girlfriend in a rental one-bed flat in London (Zone 2) and we don’t have any children (however we got the world’s cutest lockdown puppy in May 2021). My girlfriend works in tech.

We are relatively frugal and spend circa £1,350 each in most months. Holidays are an additional £2K annually per person I think. So… that works out to be roughly £36K p.a. in combined expenditure.

I’m very keen on achieving FIRE or the more appropriate “work optional” status. My girlfriend isn’t that bothered as she loves her job and enjoys it very much. However, both of us squirrel away similar amounts into investments each month.

You can have a look at my Wealth chart to see how I progress on my journey. The figures exclude my girlfriend’s wealth (although I keep track of that too 🙂 ).

I started this blog about two years into my FIRE journey at the age of 31 in 2020. I’d like this blog to show my thinking and learning about financial independence, hoping to inspire others to take control of their financial future.