Wealth update – 30/11/2021

Deposit drama

We finally got a payout from the ex-landlord of Β£2,500 + fees we paid to start the court claim (they failed to protect our deposit within 30 days of receiving the deposit payment). We ended up settling and it didn’t get to court. I’m very happy about this outcome.

Health

Last month I said I might be allergic to something which was causing my cough. Turns out all the tests were negative and I’m not allergic to anything. So… it’s just some sort of sinus inflammation and I’m taking a nasal spray to alleviate the symptoms and that’s been working really well.

I suppose it’s good to know there’s nothing wrong. πŸ™‚

Personal and new home(s)

As I’m now single, I’ve moved to a flatshare and am renting a small single room. This is intended to be temporary. I am also in the process of buying a two-bed flat – my offer has been accepted and mortgage approved, it’s just the legal stuff that now needs to be done. I expect to be in my newly bought home earliest in February 2022 but it can easily end up in March as well. The majority of my LISA is now in cash as it’s there to pay for my 20% deposit.

There will be a large drop in the wealth chart when I buy the property as the majority of the LISA will disappear. I have decided that I will not include my property in the net wealth charts as my home is not an investment.

Counting my beans

November was a very good month for my portfolio.Β My net worthΒ as of 30/11/2021 has reached a new all-time high of Β£351,531 – it’s an increase of Β£55,617 or +18.8% from the end of October 2021. I increased my wealth by almost my annual gross salary (of Β£55,900) in one month. πŸ™‚

My EIS holdings had another crowdfunding round and the share price increased by 145% creating Β£21K of gains. Taking risk is paying off as I originally only invested Β£2,000 and received Β£600 back via EIS tax relief. This investment is now worth Β£35K+.

The above results are after I made a Β£1,633 GIA top-up, Β£452 pension top-up (deducted from salary + employer contribution), and added Β£350 to my cash reserves.